More Digital Mapping…

So when you’re overseas, and the internets hate your existence… sometimes you get creative when filling your free time. And let me tell you, on a Forward Operating Base (FOB) that allows no white light after the sun goes down, that can be an awful lot of free time. Gave me a whole new respect for our ancestors before the days of light pollution and electric illumination… the dark can really be SCARY sometimes. And that’s a good thing.

Anyway, during the last few months I have had the blessing of a wealth of free time, and one of the ways I chose to fill that time was indulging in a new-found hobby of mine: digital mapping of places that don’t exist. I started with my home campaign, because that area lives and breathes in my brain and I know it so well.

If you recall, a while back I took the digital illustration software GIMP for a test drive and liked it a lot, creating a map of Brittanis. That map took me along the learning curve of the GIMP software and after much hemming and hawing, I decided that while I was proud of the map itself and what it represented, I wanted to do better. Simple fact is, the map didn’t give off the feel that I wanted to express with my campaign setting. So I snooped around on the days the interwebs were being kind and scoured the Cartographer’s Guild Tutorial Messageboard for something in the style that I wanted to invoke with Brittanis. and I found it– the style is referred to usually as hand-drawn, mainly because some of the more hardcore guys on those forums have tablet-style computers that let them actually draw with an electric stylus. I’m not that hardcore, so I found a cheater method, but I think the results are far more interesting and definitely evoke the Dark Arthurian Fantasy style I want for Brittanis more than the considerably more digitized, computer-y previous version.

So without further ado, I present to you the Version 2.0 Map of Brittanis:

You'll also notice that this map is the new background for the website.

This entry was posted in Afghanistan Gaming, Brittanis, GM Advice, Maps & Mapping, Worldbuilding. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More Digital Mapping…

  1. Stacy Braxton says:

    That’s beautiful! Excellent work.

  2. Great map! But inquiring minds want to know – how did you ‘cheat’ the hand drawn look? It’s very effective.

  3. Markus says:

    Nice creation, did you design the border yourself as well or did you find that somewhere on the Interwebs?

  4. Labyrinthian says:

    It look fantastic! Well done, sir!

  5. Marcus says:

    Just found your work skimming through old entries in my feed reader. This map is truly beautiful, great work!
    Would you mind explaining your “cheater method”?

    Cheers, Marcus

  6. Jim says:

    I’m former USAF myself. The internet didnt exist as it does today back then. I used to scribble in a notepad. Great work.. keep it up.

Leave a Reply

