The Elusive One-Page Character Sheet

So I was recently inspired by this post over at one of my favorite gaming sites, Critical Hits. Mr. Dixon Trimline and I have some similar thoughts when it comes to character sheets, and when he posted a super-simple character sheet that managed to accommodate everything required for a 4th Edition Character–at Paragon Tier, no less– I immediately snatched up the file and began playing with it. And, like any good GM, I tinkered with it until it fit exactly what I wanted it to do, and I gotta say, it REALLY like it. I think it’s going to work out really well, and this weekend I’m going to hand out One-Page character sheets to some of my PCs.

One modification I made that I really think is going to help I took from the Legacy Monster Builder program from DDI– that I still have on my laptop and proudly use. I separated the actions (and labeled the sections) by their action Type– Standard I put in their own category, and Move/Minor/Reactions I put together. Hopefully this will help the PCs organize their turn and result in faster gameplay at the table. I also used a specific font for each PC’s page, adding a tiny bit of character-specific flavor. I think it worked out really well.

This weekend will be the test run– we’ll see how it goes. Below are two .pdf final versions of the character sheet. Enjoy!

EDIT: I can’t seem to get the template to upload, so if you want my modified version, hit me up at theactionpoint (at) gmail (dot) com!!

This entry was posted in Afghanistan Gaming, Gamer Schwag, GM Advice, Rules, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Elusive One-Page Character Sheet

  1. Wally says:

    Thanks for sending this to me. Very easy to use. Now we need someone to figure out how to export our CB character into it :)

  2. Adrian says:

    I too would like to thank you for sending me the template. I generated my own one page character sheet, but it is not very attractive and loses the 4e presentation style for powers. When I finish transferring my character (a level 18 warforged slayer) to this format, perhaps I will try and post a link here in the comments.

  3. Swordgleam says:

    Nice! I really like the idea of putting relevant skills under the stat – why have I never thought of that?

  4. elstiko says:

    Fold it in half and it makes a great “pre-gen” size sheet! Now I just need to figure out how to insert checkboxes in word 2007…

Leave a Reply

