Cartographer’s Guild = Made of Awesome

I’m working hard currently to get an online Google Wave game off the ground, and I have brought several new players in to get things running. we’re going to be using a bastardized version of the FATE 3 rules, using elements of the Dresden Files RPG by Evil Hat and Legends of Anglerre.

I’ve mentioned my campaign world, Brittanis, just a couple of times before. I, like many of you reading this, have homebrewed for years but never have been able to make a satisfying map of my world. I saw all the awesome, professional-grade maps out there in Dungeon and Dragon and it made my heart bleed just a little. I wanted my world to be displayed in all the glory it deserved; Brittanis sat in my head for almost 20 years trying to get out and I just never had the artistic skill to get it on paper they way I wanted.

I had pulled maps from the Cartographer’s Guild on many occasions; I collect maps just because I love to look at them and imagine the stories of the people who live in those places– it has helped me cobble together an adventure idea on so many occasions I can’t count. As I wandered the CG forums, I noticed that the sheer amount of awesome maps being produced couldn’t be a co-incidence: these guys had to be learning how to do this awesome stuff SOMEWHERE. So I started looking around for tutorials, and sure enough, there they were! I downloaded GIMP, a free computer art software roughly comparable to Photoshop, found myself a tutorial, and away I went. Here is the first-ever map of Brittanis I actually feel comfortable publishing out to the public:

So check it out! Tell me what you think, and head over to the Cartographer Guild forums to do it yourself!

My next step is going to be a major city map– probably the city where the majority of play for my Google Wave game is going to take place!

This entry was posted in Applying Theory, Brittanis, GM Advice, Maps & Mapping, Worldbuilding. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cartographer’s Guild = Made of Awesome

  1. Mr. Kemp says:

    That’s just awesome! I’m really curious about Malagant and Northmarch. I also like how you left an opening for Dragonborn with New Arkhosia. Great job!

    • If you follow this link, you can see how I’ve fit the dragonborn into my world a bit more specifically. There will be writeups of Malagant and Northmarch coming in the near future.

      • Mr. Kemp says:

        I’m sorry I didn’t see your response until just now. I already looked at your Obsidian Portal page, and the campaign world looks great. I especially like what you did with Helios

  2. Pingback: More Digital Mapping… | The Action Point

Leave a Reply

